Monday, 16 October 2017

Past Aare Ona Kakanfo of Yorubaland

The 13th Aare Ona Kakanfo Ladoke Akintola dancing with his wife, Faderera, on his 55th Birthday
Ladoke Akintola in Aare Ona Kakanfo Warrior Dress

1. Kokoro Gangan [Iwoye]
2. Oyapote [Iwoye]
3. Oyabi [Ajase]

4. Adeta [Jabata]

5. Oku [Jabata]

6. Afonja Laya Loko [Ilorin]

7. Toyeje [Ogbomosho 1797]
Kashimawo Abiola on being installed as Aare Ona Kakanfo in 1988

8. Edun [Gbogun]

9. Amepo [Abemo]

10. Kurumi [Ijaye 1850]

11. Ojo Aburumaku Adio [Ogbomosho 1860]

12. Obadoke Latoosa [Ibadan 1871]

13. Lakode Akintola [Ogbomosho 1965]

14. Bashorun Kashimawo Abiola [Abeokuta 1988]

15. Otunba Ganiyu Adams [?]


  1. 8th is Edun from Gbangan not gbogun.
    Alaafin Ajagbo inaugurated the first Aare Kokoro Gangan (Scorpion) of Iwoye in 1650.
    Mayowa Akinsola

    1. Samuel Johnson in History of the Yorubas, J. D. Y. Peel in Christianity, Islam and Orisa Religion, Paul Jenkins in The Recovery of West African Past and R. O. Olaunji in History of Yoruba and other authors referred to Edun of Gbogun.

    2. Other authors like Akin Mabogunje, Ibrahim Oladipo etc. referred to him as Edun Bale of Gbongan. It is possible that the early historians anglicised Gbongan as Gbogun, the same way Dosunmu became Docemo. Many thanks.

  2. Gani Adams is an Akoko man from Arigidi-Akoko, Ondo State.

  3. Moses Oluwatusin16 October 2017 at 23:35

    Has Gani Adams been installed as Aare Ona Kakanfo of Yoruba land or it's been speculated?

  4. Funny I was thinking of this topic this morning when I read it on another blog that Gani is now the new Aare. I don't know why anyone will accept this position. Based on my little history, none of the past aares died naturally. I think ur next story shd be looking into the past aares and their death circumstances.